NAESP Forms National Task Force on Race and Equity

June 26, 2020

Because it values diversity in our culture and prioritizes achieving education equity, the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) formed its National Task Force on Race and Equity. The task force will advise NAESP on issues related to racial equity in school communities, reveal schools’ common challenges and solutions, and support a peer-to-peer network of support for school leaders.

The task force will focus on collecting information related to racial equity in schools, elevating relevant research, and determining how best NAESP can provide support to principals around these issues. In conjunction and collaboration with NAESP staff, the task force will host events for school leaders to share valuable best practices and produce recommendation to advance racial equity in the principal profession and in public schools.

Principals—who research says are among the most trusted professionals—are tasked with advancing culturally responsive teaching and learning, which includes not only welcoming diversity in the classroom but also teaching students how to navigate an increasingly racially, ethnically, and socioeconomically diverse society.

NAESP firmly believes that principals, as a beacon of hope and inspiration for many community members, can play a central role in leading efforts to improve racial inequities. It is our sincere hope that this task force can elevate the dialogue around these issues and support principals in this work.

About the Task Force

The task force members were selected based on their outstanding leadership to NAESP, in addition to their state, regional, and national colleagues.

Task Force Members:


Kimbrelle Barbosa Lewis

Cordova Elementary School
Cordova, Tennessee

Zone 1

Erica McLaughlin

Randolph Elementary School
Randolph, Vermont

Zone 2

Nicole Moore-Samson

Indian Mills School
Shamong, New Jersey

Zone 3

Edward Cosentino

Clemens Crossing Elementary
Howard County, Maryland

Zone 4

Dr. Cynthia J. Hammond

Westside Elementary
Houston County Schools
Perry, Georgia

Zone 5

Denise Gamble

Retired Principal
Chicago, Illinois

Zone 6

Jeremy Patterson

Middle School at Parkside
Jackson, Michigan

Zone 7

Nancy Antoine

Bridgewater Elementary School
Northfield, Minnesota

Zone 8

Annette Sanchez

Hampton-Moreno-Dugat Early Childhood Center
Beeville, Texas

Zone 9

Shaun Campbell

Burnt Bridge Creek/Burton Elementary
Vancouver, Washington

At Large

Thomas Payton

Roanoke Avenue Elementary School
Riverhead, New York

At Large

Dr. Liza Caraballo-Suarez

Magnet School of Architecture,
Engineering & Design — P.S. 120
Brooklyn, New York