NAESP Welcomes New Vice President and Board Members

Liza Caraballo-Suarez, Ed.D., will serve as vice president of NAESP’s Board of Directors; Amy Dixon, Matthew Lewis, Scott Borba, and Ramona Dunn will also begin new terms on the board.

Alexandria, VA—March 15, 2021—NAESP welcomes Liza Caraballo-Suarez, Ed.D., principal of Magnet School of Architecture, Engineering, and Design—P.S. 120 in Brooklyn, New York, as the recently elected vice president of the NAESP Board of Directors.

Dr. Caraballo-Suarez has served as a principal for the past 19 years. She’s been a member of NAESP for the past six years, and during her membership, she’s served on various NAESP committees like the NAESP National Task Force on Race and Equity and on the NAESP Board of Directors as director at large, minority, at the elementary level. Dr. Caraballo-Suarez has also held leadership positions with New York City Elementary Principals Association.

“As school leaders, we are responsible to be proactive and not wait for a moment that forces us to look at inequities,” said Dr. Caraballo-Suarez. “We should always be looking for the best strategies, resources, partnerships, and opportunities to prepare our educational institutions for the unexpected with a focus on equity and excellence. … As your next NAESP vice president, I will … listen the voices of the field. I will use my position as a platform to elevate the voices of my colleagues from around the country in promoting not only equity, access, and social emotional learning but also the professional interests of our NAESP members.”

Dr. Caraballo-Suarez will begin her term of vice president Aug. 1, 2021, and will become the president of the NAESP Board of Directors two years later—after she has served as both vice president and president-elect. NAESP’s current president-elect, Paul Wenger, will become president, and Dave Steckler will become president-elect, effective Aug. 1, 2021.

In NAESP Zone elections, the following individuals were elected to the NAESP Board of Directors:

  • Amy Dixon, principal of Lincoln and Jefferson Attendance Centers in Carmi, Illinois, will represent Zone 5 principals in Illinois, Indiana, and Kentucky.
  • Matthew Lewis, principal of Garfield Elementary School in Lewistown, Montana, will represent Zone 7 principals in Alaska, Colorado, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming.
  • Scott Borba, principal of Le Grand Union Elementary School in Le Grand, California, will represent Zone 9 principals in Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Guam, and American Samoa.  
  • Ramona Dunn, principal of New Mark Middle School in Kansas City, Missouri, will serve as director at large, minority. 

All three new Zone directors and the director at large, minority, will also begin their terms Aug. 1, 2021.